Using Nicole Kidman to demonstrate the future of advertising on TV

The future of video advertising is via clickable interactive links embedded within the video. I promise. This Nike campaign for it’s new look book is a pretty basic idea but executed really nicely.

Imagine this: You know the Chanel Advert with Nicole Kidman in Paris? Well imagine if you were watching that on your connected television, and at any single point you could use your remote control to stop the advert and it would give you information about what was on screen at that given second.

It would go like this: Nicole Kidman is stood (for example) outside the Eiffel Tower. Wearing a vintage Chanel dress from 1923. The car in the background is a vintage Rolls Royce and she is wearing gold eye shadow (I’m making this up) I pause the video and I can click on any of the above objects and either buy them or find information out about them.

So in pausing the advert during that particular shot and clicking on the Eiffel Tower I am directed to let’s say the Trip Advisor website which pulls in an article about Paris (or a Guardian Travel article, Frommers guide etc). Which ever brand wanted to be associated with ‘Paris’ would pay on a PPC basis.

Then I get bored of looking at Paris, so I click on the dress and I am directed to the Chanel website which gives me a brief history of the dress. In 1923 Coco Chanel wore the exact dress to a party where she talked to Winston Churchill. Didn’t know that before I watched the advert. Wow- I’m starting to like Chanel even more.  I want to buy into the heritage of the brand.  The Chanel website then suggests that I may like the gold eyeshadow. So I buy it online on my internet enabled TV. Chanel eyeshadows are about £18. Now imagine if every advert you watched had every single object and location tagged- you could pause it at any point and buy any object on your screen. Ker ching.

I don’t have time at this moment to think about the moralistic element of this idea/reality by the way. But I will and I’ll re edit the post as and when.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a comment